Shoal Wins at the SA State Motor Racing Championships 2016

The South Australian CAMS “Master of Mallala” State Motor Racing Championships were completed in November with the Shoal / Thomson Geer Porsche up against stiff competition with several equal or more powerful cars.  The team has enjoyed a substantial point lead throughout the Championship; however, to secure the outright champion of champions trophy, at least 2 wins and 2 seconds were required in races 15-18 – the final four.

Driver, Michael O’Donnell, achieved a fantastic 5 second lead in the qualifying race due to the teams’ adept selection of slick tyres for the warm/wet track condition. Race 15 started with a near-stall but some excellent textbook tactics saw a first-place finish. Races 17 and 16 resulted in two second place finishes, leaving the entire year’s grand championship down to the last race. The final race was at night, in the wet. Michael took off with a vengeance and kept absolute focus on pace. After a few laps, a half-lap lead ensured a chequered flag ending.

With 618 total points the Shoal / Thomson Geer Porsche is the 2016 SA Sports Car Champion; and also took out the Champion of Champion award for the highest point score of all categories. Shoal congratulates Michael and the team for exceptional performance throughout the championship.